CMSE faculty member Matthew Hirn awarded Director's Fellowship from DARPA

  • May 6, 2018
  • News

Hirn has been awarded the “Director’s Fellowship” from DARPA, which extends his Young Faculty Award to a third year.

In 2016, Hirn won the DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA), which is described by DARPA as: “The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award (YFA) program aims to identify and engage rising stars in junior faculty positions in academia and equivalent positions at non-profit research institutions and expose them to Department of Defense (DoD) and National Security challenges and needs. In particular, this YFA will provide high-impact funding to elite researchers early in their careers to develop innovative new research directions in the context of enabling transformative DoD capabilities.”

The funding for the YFA is for two years. Towards the end of this two year period DARPA selects some of the YFA awardees for the “Director’s Fellowship,” which DARPA says is “reserved for a limited number of awardees who demonstrate exceptional YFA project performance over the 24-month base period.”

Hirn is now near the end of his initial two year period for the YFA and has been selected for the “Director’s Fellowship.”