CMSE faculty member Matthew Hirn designated Kavli fellow

  • Sep 29, 2017
  • News

Faculty member Matthew Hirn was recently designated a "Kavli Fellow" for his participation in the "2017 Japanese-American-German Frontiers of Science Symposium."

The Kavli Frontiers of Science symposium series (KFoS) is the National Academy of Sciences' premiere activity for distinguished young scientists. Attendance at a KFoS symposium is by invitation only and attendees are selected from among award winners for early career scientists in the US and abroad. These KFoS attendees include Sloan Fellows, Packard Fellows, MacArthur Genius Grantees, Pew Fellows, Searle Scholars and Presidential Early Career Awardees for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). Since the inception of the program in 1989, over 5,000 distinguished young scientists have attended a Kavli symposium and are designated Kavli Fellows.